Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Big Pine

leave a comment »

Last year, I went backpacking near Big Pine (twice!). The first time was snowy and cold and wet and treacherously beautiful.

I went with the best backpacking partner, Morgan, my dog, not a human, because humans talk too much on trips like these. Just kidding. I talk to her all the time. I’m not crazy.

After driving up late at night, we slept at the freezing trailhead and started off in the morning.


Hiking up into the snow


The half doberman side of her likes the snow, the other husky side of her loves the snow!

We also spent some time camping at the filthy camping zone of Alabama Hills near the Whitney Portal.


Whitney is somewhere up in there


After driving around looking for a site and seeing nobody for a long time, I turned a corner around some rocks and find… three Asians holding large cameras taking pictures of rocks! Hahaha…I started laughing out loud so hard! So very hard because the stereotypes are so true about Asians! And cameras! And their picture taking!

Ha Ha! I was laughing so hard that I did not notice that I too had instinctually raised my own camera to take a picture of how ridiculous it is to see Asians out here taking pictures. Of all the places to run into three of them shooting away in nature in the middle of nowhere. What are the chances! This was just all too comical, just all too…SNAP! Yup, I took a picture of them too. Like the good Asian I am. It takes one to know one.


Giant rock silhouettes dominate the view at night

Written by jonewantsm3

January 10, 2015 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures

Leave a Reply

