Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

West Clear Creek Part II

leave a comment »

By the end of the first day, the group members were completely sick and tired of floating through cold sections of water. So we decided to hike out with another group of backpackers. Since I was sworn to secrecy about this highly classified route, here are some pictures:

Once we got to the top, we had about a three mile hike back to the car.

After about a mile, JT who was carrying his 80LB pack could not take it anymore and we decided to leave him there and grab the car to pick him up.


It doesn’t look like he minded at all.

Whenever I arrive back safely to my car on a trip, I am always overwhelmed with joy. It is like a combination of wanting to do a backflip/aerial heel tap/breakdancing… which I can do none of them at all. But at least you know how happy I am when I see my red truck.

The last difficult part was still ahead of us which was trying to get out of the off-road section of the trip. There was one part of it that was worrying me which was a near 45 degree incline with lots of large rocks. It was the same place where I bottomed out my rear bumper when we drove in during midnight. But we made it out luckily and we were heading back to CA.

The drive out to Arizona and back to California was fun.


Heading back to CA

We spent a total of about sixteen hours driving. During this time you end up learning a lot about each other.

I learned that JT hates my music. I learned that LS likes Pho and crazy Vietnamese coffee crap (all coffee is crap). I also learned that N, although Asian, does not know how to use chopsticks which is quite humiliating. I also learned that they quite appreciated my familiarity with Shania Twain songs and my undying love for her.


I also learned that Batman loves the crap out of road trips

Since we had another night to kill, JT drove my truck to my not-so-secret-anymore spot in Anza Borrego. The place was littered with trash which angered me but it was getting dark and I was hungry so my attention turned from thinking of ideas to setup Macgyver-like traps to sabotage future non-respectful campers to setting up camp and eating food.

It was a fun night.


LS telling ghost stories which made me laugh

I told a story which made me realize that I should never tell ghost stories again.


Recharging on… yup. you guessed it: Stella

After dinner, we went on a night hike about half a mile into the hills. It was a lot of fun but I was getting tired and went back to sleep.

Our view in the morning:

We packed everything up and then went on a hike further into the hills for a couple hours. It was a lot of scrambling and a ton of fun.

Once we were done, we headed back to normalcy and In-N-Out to close out our Memorial Day weekend.

Overall, this was a really fun trip. The only thing that I wish we could have done differently was stay in West Clear Creek for two nights instead of one. But I guess you always have to be flexible especially when you’re traveling with people who don’t backpack regularly.

Until next time, Cheers!

Written by jonewantsm3

June 10, 2013 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures

Leave a Reply

