Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Building Houses

leave a comment »

Remember how I went down to Tijuana last December to build houses for families in need? No?

Well, this past weekend I went down to Tecate to help put the finishing touches on a few houses for some more families. Every time I head down there, it really opens my eyes to the differences in living standards compared to back home in the states. We complain about the internet being slow, traffic, and the fact that we cannot believe a sports team or famous celebrity did something which we have no control over.

Once on the other side of the U.S./Mexico border, the concerns become whether they have clean water (or water at all) to drink, enough food, or a suitable place for their kids to live. Anyway, being in the construction industry, I like to help out in whatever way I can to make sure families have a good shelter to raise their kids.

Here are some pictures of the day:


Mixing it up

I met some cool people on this trip and it was my first time out in Tecate, BC. It felt like the same as if I drove for half an hour east of anywhere in San Diego except that I saw Mexicans everywhere instead of white people.

Later that night, I swung over to some friend’s house and we went down to the Soda Bar to see the talented Damien Jurado and his magnificent green cardigan.

And it was also fun because my friend and I saw a guy we thought we recognized. We soon realized that he played in a band that we watched last year at the Casbah. His name was Jon Kruger of River City and I went up to introduce myself and he was such a dude! Great nice guy and fun to talk to for a bit. I mean, you don’t see that many people around that look like him:


Front and center.

Anyway, great weekend. Even better long weekend coming up with a big adventure planned so stay tuned.

Until next time, Cheers!

Written by jonewantsm3

May 23, 2013 at 1:00 am

Posted in Living Life

Leave a Reply

