Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

No More Music Box

leave a comment »

As you may have realized, I stopped posting a monthly artist on Music Box since the beginning of this year.

Why?

Because people are stupid that’s why.

And here is my rant. Please enjoy.

I still had people coming up to me and saying how this artist was better than the one I posted, or I had bad musical taste, or that more people listen to an artist that I did not post up therefore they are better…

STOP.

Let me retort.

First off, Justin Beiber has millions of listeners and I can’t stand his music. The number of listeners does not equate to an artist producing good music… it just means they make more money.

Secondarily, the music I posted was stuff that I found to be interesting and fun to listen to. You may have different preference in musical style and it’s okay to not like the music that I like. I did not form the band nor am I the one playing the music so I won’t be offended.

Thirdfully, which is obviously not a word, I have one last argument for all the critics out there.

Before opening your mouth to comment on music, you must first examine whether or not you actually play a musical instrument and know more about music than you think you do. There is a whole lot more going on beside having a simple beat and catchy riffs and vocals that sound nice. Composition, difficulty, lyrics, emotion, creativity and much more…when sewn together in a good way make a great song.

Unfortunately for my critical friends, I’ve grown up playing instruments my entire life. I’ve taken cello and piano classes for years and I’ve played guitar for half my life and have played with other musicians of all sorts of skill levels and styles. So I kind of feel that I know a little more than the average person when it comes to talking about a song.

And if you begin talking to me about baseball, I won’t talk much because I don’t know too much about it and I won’t pretend to. I played a little bit as a kid but what does that count for? It would be foolish for me to rant about how much I know because I don’t know much.

Now if you talk to me about football, I could give you stats of individual players going back years and what teams they used to be on and what college records they hold and list off their old and current teammates and whether or not they have any off the field issues.

You get where I’m going with this?

And since Music Box evolved into something stressful instead of being a fun way to help others discover new bands and explore new musical styles… I’ve decided to stop.

I’ll leave you with one last song.

One of the best songs I’ve ever heard in my life.

Enjoy.

Written by jonewantsm3

April 18, 2013 at 1:00 am

Posted in Music Box

Leave a Reply

