Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Sleeping In Meetings

leave a comment »

Don’t you hate it when you’re in a meeting and it sucks and it’s Monday afternoon, right after lunch and you’re feeling slightly comatose and the temperature is adjusted to a very comfortable 70 degrees and the chairs are the really nice luxury mesh and you’re having a really hard time staying awake?

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I got caught sleeping in a meeting this week.

But it wasn’t embarrassing.

Because I do this all the time.

I was actually in the 50% awake/50% asleep mode where you are kind of visually cognizant but not mentally cognizant of your surroundings. My boss asks the question, “so do you have an update on that?

Update on what?

I have absolutely no idea what we’re talking about.

I slowly bring my hand up to my head and rub my chin and say, “um… well I talked to the guy and he still needs to get back to me.

My boss then asks, “who did you talk with over there?

Crap.

I replied, “um… well there’s a couple of guys I’m talking with about a few different things. Which one are you worried about?

Bam! I have no idea how my mind operated so flawlessly in such groggy conditions.

Boss: Did they fix their submittal and send it back?
Me: Yes, I talked to Nick this morning just before the meeting…

I look around the room and Alex seems to be falling asleep

…and I need to get with Alex about the mix design. Isn’t that right Alex?

Alex (who is suddenly very alert): Uh.. Uh.. What?
Boss: Alex, did that get approved?
Alex: Uh sorry, did what get approved?

Needless to say, having a meeting on Monday afternoon just after lunch is the worst possible time for a meeting. And if you do start falling asleep, just remember the three steps:

1. Answer right away but keep it super vague
2. Ask a question to clarify what they really want to hear
3. Refer to someone else who is falling alseep

Written by jonewantsm3

March 20, 2013 at 1:00 am

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

