Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

NFL Rant

leave a comment »

What an experience it was tonight to watch the Chargers play the Saints on Sunday Night Football.

I loved how both teams played well and played hard until the end of the game. It was also a relief that the real referees were back calling the games fairly and with integrity instead of those horrible replacement refs. I may not know too much about football but I am still learning. And I learned a few things tonight…and I have to thank the real referees for showing me what I still did not know about NFL rules.

I did not know that the WR (Malcolm Floyd) could be contact early (Malcolm Jenkins) and from behind before the ball reaches him and not have a pass interference called. If this is a new rule, I am going to email Eric Weddle and let him know that he can start doing this without getting flagged. Who knows, he’ll have the ball tipped up and intercepted as well (Roman Harper).

But now I know.

I did not know that offensive pass interference could be called on a player when he makes a great catch and the defensive player (Roman Harper) covering stumbles because he looks for the ball too early.

But now I know.

I also did not know that a holding penalty could be called when the two players are engaged with each other from the front and the defensive player falls on the ground.

But now I know.

I did not know that you could now contact and push a WR or TE after 5 yards from the line of scrimmage and pretty much get in the way of him running his route. I knew that was a rule last year and an easy 5 yard penalty and automatic first down but I did not know that it changed this off season.

But now I know.

I also did not know that the NFL and referees really wanted the Saints to win because they are winless and they are America’s darling team.

But I do know that the best players in any game show up big time when the game is on the line, and the best player on the Saints did that tonight. They just happened to be wearing black and while and held whistles.

If this is going to continue happening, I’d prefer the replacement refs.

The Saint’s game ball should go to the refs.

Written by jonewantsm3

October 7, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

