Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Tenant Love

leave a comment »

There has been recent developments in my rental property lately, and that development is basically that my tenants are moving out on June 1.

…and I am most likely moving back into my awesome condo.

Some details are still up in the air but I would really like to move back into the condo that I love so much.

Here’s a picture of what I left behind:


If you can’t tell… I like stripes.

My condo was a bank-owned dump when I got it and I tore it up from top to bottom and recreated this female-friendly environment you see above.

Anyway, I stopped by a few nights ago to discuss the sequence of what needs to happen from now until June 1 in terms of repairs, walk-throughs and whatever. But I had a very interesting interaction with the female tenant while I was there.

The only prior info you need to know for the story is that the reason for the move out is because the boyfriend/girlfriend relationship going on between my tenants ended around Christmas time. How they managed to continue living together for many months after the breakup…has me baffled but it’s none of my business and I could care less.

Anyway, I showed up in the evening after work:

Female: Hi Johnny!
Johnny: Hi, how is everything?
Female: Good!

She walked towards me and I could tell she was moving in for a hug but I decided to keep it business and extended my hand for a handshake instead.

Female: Wow you cut your hair shorter! You look very good!
Johnny: Oh, why thank you haha…

I may have said Oh, why thank you haha… but my mind was thinking okay she seems very friendly right now. Whatever.

We start talking and as I am walking through her old bedroom she closes the door behind her. Oh boy. It is just me and her alone in the room together.

Female: So… we’re moving out. Are you moving in?
Johnny: I’d like to but I think I have someone maybe lined up and interested in moving in (I didn’t want to tell her that I was possibly going to move in)
Female: Well if you do move in, are you looking for roommates?
Johnny: What do you mean?
Female: Well I found a new place but your condo is a really really nice place to live…

Oh I see where this is going… warning!

Johnny: Oh, yeah. Well, I’m not sure about anything right now. I’m more focused on taking care of you guys moving out first. Then I’ll worry about whoever moves in afterwards.
Female: Okay that sounds good.

What on earth is going on?

We walked into the hallway and I opened the laundry closet to inspect the washer and dryer.

Johnny: I missed these. They were brand new when you guys moved in and they worked really well.
Female: Yeah! I’m going to miss these too.
Johnny: Haha yeah, just don’t steal them when you move out!
Female: Haha maybe…oh yeah I’ve got to tell you about the new place that I found! It’s so nice! It a one bedroom that has its own washer and dryer inside the actual unit! I can just do my laundry without going outside!
Johnny: Wow that’s really nice. Yeah you don’t want to be using those community washers…those are pretty gross
Female: I know. I got really lucky to find this place. Do you know the cross streets C___ and G___?
Johnny: Yea, my friend lives right there.
Female: I live right there. The place is called ___ just at C___ and G___. You should come over sometime. If you’re ever in the area, you should stop by and see my place…
Johnny: Oh okay. Thanks for the invite.
Female: Yeah. In fact, I’m having a mini-housewarming party in a couple of weekends and you should come over and…you know… it will be fun. You can meet all of my friends. I mean, it would be a really good time and you will have a lot of fun.
Johnny: Okay, yeah that would be great.

What. On. Earth?

I remember thinking I have no idea what I am doing right now to turn you onto me like this… and I am pretty sure I was not wearing any Johnny Armani.

As I was leaving…

Johnny: Okay well, everything looks good. If you guys have any questions, feel free to call or email or text. You know how to get in touch with me.
Female: Okay, I definitely will.
Johnny: Great. And if I don’t hear from you, I’ll see you guys in a few weeks for the final walk-through.
Female: Sounds good. Bye!

She turned her body towards me and slightly moved closer. She was moving in for a hug again! I quickly stuck my hand out and shook her hand. I remember it was a really low handshake because I wanted her to know I was reaching for her hand and eliminate altogether the risk of jabbing her boobs with my fingers.

When I got into my car and closed the door. I started laughing hysterically. Why do these things always happen to me? Haha…

And for good ol’ times sake, here are a few before and after shots of my condo.

Master Closet:


Before: crap
After: custom self-built closet of radical shelving

Living Room:


Before: Empty living room…no paint, no floor, no happiness


After: Accent wall and hallway, very comfy furniture

Bedroom 2:


Before: Ugly yellow paint, no floors


After: Grey (with hint of green) paint, new floors and base moulding, lots of zen

Fireplace:


Before: crap


After: Tiled-hearth, faded-brick facade, custom self-built surround and mantle

Anyway, if you can’t tell…I’m pretty excited to move back in.

Written by jonewantsm3

May 9, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Home, Rant

Leave a Reply

