Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Cowles Mountain Full Moon Hike – Round 2

with one comment

I recently did the Cowles Mountain full moon hike again.

I did the hike back in 2010, but did not have my nice camera. This time I did and the pictures came out way better.

Here are some of the way better pictures:


The summit sign


“Morgan, stay still for 30 seconds. I’m going to take a picture of you.”

The hike up took us just under 40 minutes. Once again, I put a glow stick on Morgan’s collar but she somehow managed to lose it on the way up…but not before she managed to scare group after group of college aged hikers and chicks (I’m so proud of her). We spent a good half hour at the summit enjoying the views and taking a few pictures before heading down.

The trip down was about 35 mins (and I found the lost glow stick) which means I’m getting way too good at hiking…says the man who slipped and stumbled about 10 times (But didn’t fall). I also noticed that it is way easier to hike the mountain without using any flashlights. The most difficult parts to walk (and where I stumbled) where the paths that had no rocks but a lot of sand. It was too hard to judge the depth when it was all sand because it doesn’t produce any shadows for you to gauge where you need to step.

Anyway, this is one of my favorite hikes because how quick it is, how rewarding it is, and how uncrowded the path is during the night.

Until the next adventure, have a great Friday the 13th!

Written by jonewantsm3

April 13, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. those poor kids. they probably thought morgan was a mountain lion or something scary. O_O

    Joan

    April 14, 2012 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

