Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Iron Mountain

leave a comment »

Last week was just one of those weeks. I needed to get away and the closest good hike was Iron Mountain in Poway.

I took my favorite hiking companion with me and we hit the trail. I wasn’t really enjoying it at first. There are way too many people doing this hike and a few of them aren’t dressed properly or even carrying any water. Lucky that the temperature was really cool or else I think people would have been hurting.

This was also a good time to try out my new Vibram Treksports on a longer hike.

Anyway, here are some pictures:

It took me an hour to get to the top. Not bad for stopping and taking a lot of pictures.


Looking towards the west


View to the east


Morgan taking cover under a bush


I like clouds. No joke


The view south. I believe that is San Vicente Reservoir


East


The trip back down was less crowded. I ran about 1/3 of it and Morgan kept pace right behind me

At the end, my feet were spent. The first four miles were alright but the last two were killer. So much for breaking the Vibrams in lightly. I really enjoyed hiking in them though…I noticed that I’ve been getting careless with my steps due to the good hiking boots that I invested in a couple years back. The hiking boots are way more forgiving when you step on loose gravel and help prevent you from scraping your toes, twisting your ankles, or feeling a really really sharp rock. I feel that this is a great way for me to slowly start strengthening my foot muscles again.

And of course a post-hike cuddle on the drive back.

Have a good week!

Written by jonewantsm3

April 3, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures

Leave a Reply

