Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Good Family, Good Times

leave a comment »

I can’t begin to tell you how good it is to have my dad home and the entire family together.

You don’t even know how fun it is.

And that’s because you’re obviously not here to see it…

My mom is less naggy and more happy. yay. My parents have been going on brand new hikes every single day only because they feel adventurous. And my dad has been trash talking me for some reason when I’m trying to be nice and it makes me go “…c’mon man seriously..?

We were standing around in the kitchen last night preparing dinner and this “…c’mon man seriously..?” conversation took place:

Me: Dad what are you doing early Saturday morning?
Dad: Nothing. What do you have in mind?
Me: Let’s go on an early hike. I’ll bring Morgan.
Dad: Good. What time are you thinking?
Me: Let’s leave around 7…
Dad: That’s fine. Let’s find one that I haven’t been on before.
Me: Alright, I’ll let you know which one I find. How intense do you want it to be?
Dad: Not too crazy and tiring.
Me: Okay I’ll try to find a good one
Dad: Okay good. Yeah I don’t know how you are with hiking… your hiking and my hiking skills are two different levels.
Me: I know…don’t worry. I’ll pick one that will be okay for you.
Dad: No, I’m talking about you. I don’t want you to slow me down so pick one that’s easier for you.

What?!

I look at him.

He smiles back at me.

Me: Ohh..okay…ha ha dad I’m going to ditch you so bad on the hike that you’re going to have to walk home
Mom: Xiao Qiang don’t say things like that. (see link to previous post for nickname reference)
Me: Whaaaaat did you hear him? Your husband.
Mom: He’s your dad.
Dad: Johnny don’t argue with mom.

What?!

I look at him.

He smiles back at me.

I was just trying to be nice here. Maybe not so much anymore.

After dinner was another weird conversation/event. I was getting ready for bed and going to the bathroom to brush my teeth when I saw my parents watching a movie about Jesus that was dubbed in Mandarin.

Me: What are you guys watching?
Dad: A movie about the life of Jesus

I watch for about 30 seconds.

Me: Wow, Jesus can speak Mandarin!
Dad: No. This is obviously translated so Chinese people can understand.
Me: I know dad I was just…nevermind.
Mom: But Jesus can speak Mandarin if he really wanted to.
Dad: No. This movie is translated and that’s not really Jesus talking.
Me: Okay I’m just going to go brush my teeth guys goodnight.
Mom: No. Stay!
Me: Why?
Dad: I can’t hear Jesus speaking because you guys are talking
Mom: No. He has to know that Jesus can speak Mandarin if he really wanted to
Dad: Jesus didn’t speak Mandarin. Only in this movie…
Me: Goodnight.

Have a good weekend.

Written by jonewantsm3

March 23, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Rant

Leave a comment