Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Havasupai Part II

leave a comment »

Sunday

I woke up to the sound of two girls giggling just outside of my tent. As I listened further, I realized it was actually two of my male friends giggling about something that happened during the night. I sat up in my tent and listened to them for a while and was not too stoked about what they were laughing about.

“Oh my gosh they ate all of the salami! Hahaha!”
“Apparently they didn’t like the pancake mix haha!”
“Oh man, all of the bread is gone! hahaha!”

Craaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaap.


Racoon buffet and carnage

I had an instant flashback to last night when I felt something pushing against my foot in the middle of the night. I thought it was my friend playing footsie with me in his sleep but it was just a raccoon being a sneaky thief. I also realized that my decision to play footsie back with my friend was a horrible mistake and something that I definitely should not tell him. He was like, “yeah, I felt that brush against my feet too!” Yeah. Oops.

I remembered telling the girls after dinner to put the food inside the tent but it seems like they put it inside of the rain fly instead. The raccoon must have thought that it was the easiest meal that he’s ever stolen. Oh well, I guess that’s just part of camping.

I grabbed my bandana and went to the river to wash and freshen up for the morning. The air was cold but the lukewarm water felt so good on my face. Once I got refreshed I went back to see what food we could salvage for the rest of the trip. There was surprisingly enough food for the rest of the trip and we still managed to make pancakes for breakfast.

It started raining while we were finishing breakfast so moved our cooking operation underneath the rainfly. We decided to push all of the tents together and tie the rain flies to each other to create a mega lobby area in between our tents. The rain quickly stopped and we decided to head over to Mooney Falls. Everybody put on their swim gear underneath the jackets and pants. We figured that we were only here once and we may never get the chance to jump into the waters again no matter how cold it was. Mooney Falls is located at the end of the campsite and you can walk to the edge and peer over the 200′ drop.


This stream runs down the entire campsite


We had to cross this 10 foot plank. If you fell in, you had about 30 feet to get out before plummeting 200 feet down Mooney Falls…


Mooney Falls

We started climbing down the stairway of death and it started raining and getting very slippery halfway down. Also, a troop of boy scouts went up at the same time we were going down which made us stop and find cover in the little side caves. Once we made it to the bottom, we realized how cold it was and nobody jumped into the water. The rain also started coming in and we found a little cave for shelter just in time for it to start snowing and hailing.

We were there for a few minutes and the sun came out so we decided to head back up the steep stairway in case the rain really started coming down and made it difficult for some of us to get back up. After a quick pit stop at our tents, we continued on towards Havasu Falls.

Nobody was planning on jumping into Havasu Falls anymore because it was too cold…nobody except for me and my buddy JW. Once we got there, JW was almost instantly shirtless and dove in. He screamed how cold it was and got right back out. Great. I figured that I may only get this opportunity once so I quickly followed. Then a couple girls did too. And then the rest of the group did. I love peer pressure…it works!


JS, RT, me and JW in the cold water


MJR can’t take it anymore + Smiley the dog who followed us around all weekend


View from the top of Havasu Falls

After our little swim session, we dried off and went to visit the falls that we passed yesterday on the hike in.


Rock Falls

I stop to make a quick note. Yes. It does look this green and unreal. I can’t tell you how many times we stopped and said that we felt everything looked fake because of how unreal it looked. It felt at times that we were standing on a movie set or another planet (Avatar?) or in some kind of Jurassic time period. Amazing.


Navajo Falls. I emailed this picture to my dad and he emailed back: “Nice photo, the view it is like in Avatar planet.” Nice Engrish dad.

It was dark by the time we got back and we had mac and cheese for dinner. Thanks raccoon bastards. Since it was pitch black, everybody went into our mega tent system and chilled in there. I stayed out a bit to look at the stars and enjoy the nice sky from the canyon.


Camping with Johnny is always a romantic experience…and yes, I did just refer to myself in the third person.

MJR and I got bored so we started taking long exposure shots. When the girls asked us what we were doing and why we were laughing we just replied that we were thumb wrestling…and here are some of our “thumb wrestling” pictures:

What a fun day. I put what was left of the food in my tent that night sandwiched in between me and MJR. We also slept with our knives and small flashlights by our heads in case the raccoons somehow managed to get in. They actually did come sniffing in the middle of the night and woke us up. I tried punching one through the tent wall but missed. That would have been so rad if I was able to tell people that I punched a raccoon in the face while camping at Havasupai.

Monday

We woke up at 6AM and packed and got ready for the long hike back. As a larger group, it took a bit longer to get ready and we left the campsite just before 8AM. Here’s the hike out:


Yea, horses, no big deal.


The hike back was a long steady incline…


We just came from that…


This is a view of the last mile. 1000 foot elevation gain. Brutal is such an understatement…


We did it!

We are a very odd group. It took us 5.5 hours to get down and about 4.5 hours to hike out. I think we took our time on the way in resting and taking a lot of pictures. But we quickly changed into more comfortable clothes for the long drive back ahead of us.

We were driving out of the Indian Reservation when we saw this on the side of the road and couldn’t resist…it was time for a snowball fight!


Me and MJR against the world


Taking cover from our onslaught of snowballs


Betrayal! Oh snap!


I told MJR that I’d give him a free shot for betraying him and that I wouldn’t move. Ha. Yeah right.


Snow baseball


Homerun


The girls are dirty…


…and very happy.

After about fifteen minutes of fun in the snow, it was time to get back on the road. I told everybody that we should get going again because we had a lot of driving ahead of us and I got back into the car. Little did I know that there was something malicious brewing among my friends.


I turned to see MJR back across the street. Oh no you don’t…


…Oh No You Didn’t!


Oh my poor truck…


This was painful to watch. They were egging me to get out so they could pelt me but I stayed put. They finally stopped and I went out to assess the damage.


The devastation

We hit the road and drove and drove. We got out of the Indian Reservation and our first destination was the In-N-Out in Kingman, AZ.


No road trip is complete without one of those, “Hey man stop the car I need to pee!” moments…

We got back to San Diego around 9pm. The road trip / camping experience was one of the funnest trips that I have been on in a really long time. The people were great and a really fun group and I really enjoyed getting to finally hang out with them outside of our normal settings in San Diego.

I can’t wait for the next adventure.

Until next time, Cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

February 27, 2012 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures

Leave a Reply

