Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Craigslist Stories: Part 2

leave a comment »

I was beginning to think that I would never have another Craigslist story to tell, but today was my lucky day.

So I decided to sell my Nikon 14-24mm 2.8G on craigslist. Since I use that lens mostly at 14mm anyway, I was just going to buy a Rokinon 14mm for $400 and then use the rest to buy a 85mm 1.4. I figured that it would be a smart investment and if you know nothing about cameras or don’t give a rip, then just  ignore everything I just typed and skip to the next paragraph.

I decided to list the price at $1800. The lens sells for $1999 right now on Amazon and my lens is still in perfect condition. I figured if they wanted $1700 for it, heck…I’m okay with that too.

So I posted my ad on Craigslist.

I have a Nikon 14-24mm 2.8G for sale. The lens is in perfect condition with only a minor scuff on the lens cap because I dropped the cap.

The only reason I am selling is because I am moving to all prime lenses. I will include everything that it came with…box, pouch, paperwork, etc.

Please email Johnny if you’re interested. $1800 is firm. No trades or tattoos, local exchange only.

Nice and simple. I double checked the spelling and figured the price is very reasonable to someone who appreciates this lens and knows the value for it. I then get back to work and go to a meeting, run some errands and grab some lunch.

A few hours later, I come back from lunch and check my personal email. There was a new email in my inbox and I opened it to read this wonderful message:

I bought mine in mint condition on CL for $1,400. You can take your asking price and shove it & ther lens up your ass!

HAHAHAHA! I can’t stop laughing! My ad actually pissed someone off to the point where they felt prompted to send me a message that they really really disapproved of my asking price. HAHAHAHA! It gets funnier when I reread the email and noticed that he is wasting his time searching for this lens because he already previously bought one and is now very angry at me that I am ripping other craigslisters off.

Well, I did not respond to the email because I wanted to save my response as a blog post…so here it is.

Dear Troy,
Sorry about your displeasure in my asking price. You do know that the lens is selling for $2000 and therefore a $1800 asking price is kind of reasonable right? You also do know that I don’t believe you when you say you bought it for $1400 right? You also do know that you shouldn’t respond with your real name Troy H. right? You do know that I looked you up on facebook and learned so much about you right?
Love, Johnny Sideburns
PS. So I’m guessing you’re not going to buy it…?

Anyway, I don’t think he’s interested in buying the lens…

But no matter, a little facebook stalking researching helped me get more acquainted with my new pen pal Troy H.


Meet Troy. He’s an 18 year old punkass from San Diego who works part time at Target while he finishes his senior year of high school.


When he’s not busy taking pictures of himself on the webcam, he likes internet chatting with his 227 facebook friends…


He loves waterfalls, v-neck shirts, and drinking mountain dew with his buddies. And watch out ladies…he’s also single…which is hard to believe I know right…

Lastly, when he’s not typing angry hate emails to random people on the internet machine…he’s either severely throwing up or releasing diarrhea into his car. Check it out:

What a fun guy. His email totally made my day.

Until next time, Cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

February 1, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

