Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Work Lesson #274

leave a comment »

If you have read any of my previous stories from work, you may be thinking …

How on earth has this guy managed to keep his job after all of the things he’s said and done (and done and done)???

Well, I admit that sometimes I wonder the same thing also.

Today, I added to my resume of fantastic work stories during a meeting with the boss and a few coworkers. We were talking about something construction related when my boss says:

Boss: Well, I don’t think it’s going to fit inside the hole. *Pause* No, it’s not going to fit…I think it’s too small.

I had the choice to respond with any of the following responses:

A. I agree.
B. Let’s give it a shot and see exactly what we need.
C. Let’s find another alternative…is there another part that would be better applied?
D. Let’s try another method and see if that works out.

Which response did I choose? None of the above. This was a trick question.

If I had responded with any of the above answers, it would have been okay. Instead I chose to respond with…

E. That’s what she said…

I smiled. Then quickly unsmiled. Then I excused myself from the meeting to get a cup of water.

How am I still employed at this company? You tell me. You tell me.

Written by jonewantsm3

January 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

