Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Elfin Forest

leave a comment »

The day after Christmas I decided to hike Elfin Forest with my sidekick Morgan.

Spoiler Alert: There were no elves and there was no forest.

The Elfin Forest Recreation staging area opens at 8AM which I found out when I arrived there at 7:30AM. I lucked out as the ranger was just opening the gate and I followed him down to the parking lot, parked, and got everything ready.


It’s always nice to be the first one.


Here’s a enlargeable panoramic that shows just how lonely #1 can be…

No matter, I had Morgan with me so we set off. I quickly bumped into this walking stick station and happily grabbed one. Not because I had any real need for one, but because I had a dream the night before that I got in a confrontation with a mountain lion and ended up fighting it with a half empty water bottle. You can let your imagination run wild with who won that fight.


Anti-mountain lion stick? Um, yes please.

The walk up the mountain was cold and rugged. The sun did not reach this side of the valley yet and the wind that blew down the southern face was pretty cold. I was happy to be wearing three layers of shirts and a down vest or I would have froze.


The sun finally found us as we neared the top


Incredible ocean views

Then we walked further to the Lake Hodges overlook.


Enlargeable panoramic of Lake Hodges

We chilled at the top for a bit before heading back down.


The staging area all filled up

On the way down, I passed a lot of hikers and bikers. One biker actually wiped out into a bush. It was a good hike that is relatively easy and quick. I got back to my car at about 9AM and spent about 10-15 minutes at the top near the lake. The only caution would be the risk of twisting an ankle as there are a lot of rocks and uneven ground the entire way.

Afterwards, I took Morgan to Oceanside Harbor and she took a nap in the car while I surfed with a few buddies. The waves were great and I caught a bunch of them right before I nearly froze to death. A great morning after Christmas day.

Until next time, Cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

December 26, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Posted in Adventures

Leave a Reply

