Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

TW: Kaohsiung

with one comment

The next morning I woke up early at 7am ready to go to Kaohsiung.

When I walked into the dining room and saw Auntie and Uncle here already, I was confused so I went to ask my dad about it.

Me: Yo dad, why are Auntie and Uncle here so early?
Dad: Auntie wanted to make breakfast for you, she went shopping for breakfast this morning for you.

Wow. As much as I wanted to scream, I seriously cannot eat anymore food!!! I couldn’t fault her for being so nice and welcoming. This was breakfast:


Fresh fruits! Papayas, kiwis, pineapples, guavas…


This is a breakfast bun with dried shredded pork.

I used to lie to my white high school friend that Rousong was old carpet scrapings that we seasoned and ate because it was a Chinese tradition and custom to eat part of your house. He actually believed it and was cool enough to try it and really fell in love with it. My dad thought it was weird when my white friend would come over and ask if he could try some more of our carpet and then turn to my dad and say something stupid like, “Wow… your carpet is really delicious.”

After breakfast we took the high speed rail down to Kaohsiung and my dad’s friend met us and drove us around all day. Here are the places we visited:


This is the roof of the new stadium that hosted the 2009 World Games


We had lunch at a fish market. You purchased the seafood and told them how to cook it. Then you walked into their restaurant area and they bring the food to your table. Super fresh!


Another 7-Eleven pit stop…

And here are some cool buildings/structures I saw:

A group of young ladies approached me while I was taking the last picture and asked me to take a picture for them using their cool new mini-polaroid camera. Then they were like, “oh can you take five more? We all want one and you are a great photographer.” No problem. So I took a few more for them and when I was about to take my last one, one of them said, “we’ll give you one too because you are so nice.” And then she started giggling.

In my mind I was thinking…sweet. But her friends were like, “wait, we’re going to give him a picture of all of us?” And she was like, “why not…?” Hahaha. I sprang into action and rescued her from her friends saying, “well, why not take a picture of me with my dad and sister and we’ll all be happy.” And they agreed.


Here is the mini-polaroid of my family instead of five Taiwanese girls

Then as it got darker, we went to a hilltop near Kaohsiung University for a city view and then we hit the night market.


Oyster Pancakes/Omelettes are so good


Fried soft shell crab.


Fresh sugar cane juice


Sexy Taiwanese lingerie…gross

We were so tired after such a long day. Our hotel was the 85 Skyscraper which is also the tallest building in Kaohsiung. It had great views from our room.


It was great to fall asleep and wake up to such a great view.

In other news, I just got destroyed in the last week of the fantasy football regular season and got bounced from playoffs. Having too much fun in Taiwan made me completely forget to set my lineup. =(

Well, the next city on the Taiwan tour is Kenting.

Until next time, cheers!

Written by jonewantsm3

December 12, 2011 at 5:46 am

Posted in Adventures, Travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gah! I miss those pudding cups (seen in your 7-11 pitstop photo)

    Fern

    December 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm


Leave a Reply

