Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Taiwan Trip

leave a comment »

I recently booked a ticket to Taiwan for ten days to chill and vacation with my parents and my sister.

The last time I went back to the motherland was about five years ago and I figured it was about time to head back to get in touch with my Asian side. I can’t wait to eat at all the night markets in Taipei, Tainan, Kaohsiung…and hike all the cool mountains and see all the beautiful ocean that Taiwan has to offer. I usually go back to pig out on some seriously delicious food and see all the weird Engrish things I can find.

This time will be different.

I will be dedicating two or three days to head to the Southeast corner of Taiwan to surf. Did you know Taiwan has some empty world class surf spots?!


Apparently it’s like this year round with mid 80 degree temperature water…drool

My mom is currently in Taiwan because her mother is in the hospital but she called to check in on how things were.

Johnny: Hello?
Mom: Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Johnnyyyyyyyyyy
Johnny: Hey mom.
Mom: Hellooooo little brotheerrrrrrrrrrr!
Johnny: Oh geez… Hi mom.
Mom: Little brotherrrrrrrrrrrr hellooooooooo!
Johnny: Hi mom…
Mom: How are things back home?
Johnny: Good mom.
Mom: How’s work?
Johnny: The same. How’s grandma?
Mom: She’s okay for now, still in the hospital so I pushed my flight back again.
Johnny: Okay, when are you coming back?
Mom: I’m not sure yet. How is everything at home? Do you argue with your brother all the time because I’m not there?
Johnny: No mom. Things have been pretty good.
Mom: Are you sure?
Johnny: Yes mom. Why would we argue? We work all week and then do our own things on the weekend.
Mom: Good, you should not be fighting with each other all the time.
Johnny: We don’t mom. I just told you that…
Mom: …you should fight other people instead.
Johnny: …
Mom: Hello?
Johnny: Wait…wait a second mom. What did you just tell me to do?
Mom: There’s a saying in Taiwan…
Johnny: Mom, why would I go and fight other people?
Mom: No. Listen. There’s a saying in Taiwan that goes something like, “Fight other people with your brother.”
Johnny: …
Mom: Yea I think…yes that’s right… “Fight other people with your brother.”
Johnny: Mom. That sounds like you just made that up…it doesn’t sound real…
Mom: No I didn’t!
Johnny: Mom. Okay so you’re telling me that it’s okay for me and J to fight other people?
Mom: Hahaha yes
Johnny: Haha and you’re laughing at this?
Mom: Hahaha yes!
Johnny: Okay mom I think you’re lying to me.
Mom: Hahaha… okay then just don’t fight it’s not good.
Johnny: Why were you encouraging me then?!
Mom: Well… when there are very happy times you may need to get your brother and work together. That’s all I’m saying.
Johnny: …when there are happy times?
Mom: Yes.
Johnny: Happy times??
Mom: Yes. Happy times.
Johnny: Happy times!?
Mom: Oh no no. Not happy time. Heavy time. When things get heavy, you may need to get your brother and work together because it may be too much for one person.
Johnny: Mom, I can’t understand you half the time.

It seems like in one month’s time I will be traveling to a country filled with people who talk exactly like my mom. I am looking forward to it.

Until next time. Cheers!

Written by jonewantsm3

November 8, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Rant, Travel

Leave a Reply

