Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Happy Weekend, Racist

with one comment

I am planning to go on a trip to Taiwan this winter to hang out with my family for a couple weeks and get in touch with my Asian side…but more importantly to eat at night markets and surf some epic waves. Kidding.

Earlier today, my dad sent me an email reminding me to find out when my available dates are for December. He wants to start planning the vacation and I was the only one in our family who had not gotten back to him yet. What was also delaying me was the fact that our company throws a really sick and super ritzy Christmas party every year and I wanted to plan around it if possible. Lame, I know. But I have been putting it off for about a month so I finally emailed the lady in charge.

She replies with this:

Whoa whoa whoa. Danny? Let me tell you about Danny…

1. Danny is the other Asian in our branch who other people always confuse me with.
2. Danny and I do not look anything alike in skin color, stature and nerdiness.

And that is all you need to know about Danny.

So what do I do? I don’t get mad. I forwarded the email to Danny.

I know Danny would get a good laugh out of this too. There’s been a few times when we’ve been confused in the past…for example, I would finish my CPR training and they would send my certification to him or vice versa. A few minutes went by and I got his response.

Not the response that I was looking for Danny. Asians stick together. That’s rule #1. His little comment at the end “Lets face it. They like me more.” was not sitting well with me…because they obviously like me more. Was he being nasty with me? I gave him the benefit of the doubt and reread the email to see if I read it incorrectly or misinterpreted his words. Nope. Okay, well now I had to put him in his place…

I was disappointed that I had to send an email like that to another Asian within our company. I felt that it would set him straight.

But I was wrong.

Then I replied.

And now I’m very hungry. But I know what I’ll be having tonight for dinner.

Have a great weekend!

Written by jonewantsm3

September 30, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Posted in Rant

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is just too funny… i hope you don’t have to sit next to Danny Traitor-FunnyGuy-Vietnam at the X-mas party… and enjoy the family trip =)

    MN

    October 11, 2011 at 11:19 pm


Leave a Reply

