Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

PR: Naguabo & Fajardo

leave a comment »

The next stop on my Puerto Rico trip was to spend some time in the South. The morning after my El Yunque frolic, I drove to the little town of Naguabo just south of El Yunque National Park and spent the day there. Naguabo would serve as my launching point for the new few adventures but this day was dedicated to relaxing and seeing the little fishing village.

The city reminded me of the little farm town of Nantou where my dad grew up in Taiwan. Naguabo is similar that its worn down and things look like they’re falling apart…but it had a lot of character and everywhere you looked there were little traces of beauty. The city had a nice little boardwalk and small restaurants and bars. I had some amazing arepas and pastelillos while I stayed here and they were super cheap.

After my late lunch, I walked down to La Fanduca which is their local beach and chilled there for a bit. On my way back up, I bumped into Luis and his neighbor Maria. Luis was watching his grand kids while the parents were working and I ended up talking to him for over an hour. I learned a lot about how he grew up in Naguabo, the time he spent working in New Jersey to make money for his family of seven kids, and the many good and bad things hes been through in life. One of the greatest things was his grandchildren…who I had the privilege to play with for a while.

One of my favorite things to be a part of is watching other people enjoy and live life to the fullest with their families. It’s pretty gnarly to be able to share a moment like that with them.

My conversation with Luis was refreshing and definitely the highlight of the day for me. I was able to practice my Spanish and he was able to practice his English and I learned a lot about him and his family. It’s rad to see how simple they lived and definitely a good reminder to myself that happiness does not come from having a lot of money or working to obtain a certain status in life or owning tons of junk.

Afterward, I went back to the hostel and got invited by two new friends, C and A, to do a night tour in a bioluminescent bay near Fajardo to see dinoflagellates light up the water in the darkness. I think this is how it works…so at night, the dinoflagellates that glow come to the surface to feed. When you agitate them (oh say… kayaking?), then they emit a light and you can see it. Simple. Why do they light up? I forgot, but it’s pretty cool stuff… too bad it was too dark to have any pictures turn out good. Oh wait, here’s one…


Biobay night picture fail

That was taken on the kayak trip back to the car. All my other pictures looked like…well, close your eyes and that’s what they looked like. Anyway, I got home super late and tired but very happy. I had to get some rest because the following morning I was going to start my two day island tour of Culebra and Vieques.

I have been itching to visit those two islands ever since I came to PR. My feelings can be expressed by the famous words of Bart Scott…Can’t wait!

If you can’t tell by my referencing Bart Scott…the NFL season starts tonight and I am very excited. Can’t wait.

Until next time, cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

September 8, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures, Travel

Leave a Reply

