Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

PR: El Yunque

with 3 comments

El next stopo was el rainforesto.

I know that Puerto Rico is better known for its beaches, islands, warm water and surfing…but it’s really quite a shame that the amazing rainforest here seems to get overlooked every time people talk about PR. El Yunque is a national park located near the East side of the island and has tons of waterfalls, natural water slides, rivers, hiking trails…and whatever else you can think of. Because Hurricane Irene recently went through PR and destroyed the crap out of trees and such, only one trail was open in El Yunque and I decided to hike it.

I don’t know how else to describe a rainforest other than it is super lush and wet…so here are some pictures:


Some damage from the hurricane


Found this dude lounging on a rock

At the end of the trail was a cool river…

And on the other side of the river was a rope swing! I was super stoked…but there was one issue I had about crossing the river. Here, take a look at my video and see if you can figure out what it was that concerned me:

Those fish were nibbling at my feet!


What happens if I swam into the middle and these guys decided that they all of a sudden liked Asian food?

There was well over fifty of them swimming in water less than a foot deep and they were definitely not afraid of me. I looked up and down the river and nobody else was swimming but my inner wild-child needed to get to that rope swing. I stood there for about a minute and then I thought to myself, oh well…you only live once.

So I dove in.

And when I finally made it to the other side it was awesome.

Awesome to the max.


Cowabunga

Here are some action shots:


What’s up? Oh nothing, just chilling in El Yunque. You?

I spent about half the day there and enjoyed every moment of it. Some clouds started rolling in so I decided to book it down the mountain and hit up a nearby beach. I stopped by Luquillo.

The beaches in PR may look great but when you walk them, they are just covered in trash. The locals just throw their trash onto the ground when they’re done with a can or bottle…and that behavior is completely normal for them. I can’t stand it.

After my visual anger session at the beach, I decided to try one of the best restaurants in San Juan: La Casita Blanca. The food they make is all homestyle cooking and it was unreal good.


Chicken soup served in a cup and bacalao fritters (deep fried cod fish)


I ordered the eggplant with chicken and it came with rice, beans and fried plantains

This was not only the best meal I’ve had in PR, but one of the best meals I’ve had in a few months. I also realized as soon as I did it, that I was stepping straight into the…”that one Asian person who takes pictures of everything they eat” stereotype. Whatever. I was so stuffed that I decided to call it a day and headed back to the hostel. It was a busy day but definitely worth all the effort.

Up to this point, it seems like I’ve already done so many cool things in PR…but I promise you, the best hasn’t even come yet. Not even close. I’m trying to sort my pictures as fast as I can but there are hundreds to go through and I would rather be away from my computer while I am traveling. So bear with me in my slow updates and I’ll post more adventures as soon as I can.

Until next time, Salud!

Written by jonewantsm3

September 3, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Adventures, Travel

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. puerto rico looks amazing! love the rainforest…makes me think of my Guam days. great shots, johnny!

    hannah

    September 6, 2011 at 10:26 pm

  2. Hannah! Thanks! PR was incredible and definitely a great experience…I miss the warm water but am glad to be home. You really can’t beat living in San Diego =)

    jonewantsm3

    September 8, 2011 at 8:43 am

  3. […] dinner we had rice, beans, chicken and fried plantains. So delicious! It made me think back to my Puerto Rico trip a couple years […]


Leave a Reply

