Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Music Box: Pickwick

with 3 comments

This month has been extremely rewarding with lots of fresh music. While there are tons of bands I encountered that I wish I didn’t, the few gems I pulled out of the primordial soup of new bands was worth it. I also wish I could post them all, but then I’d have to stress next month to find great bands all over again…so be patient because it’s worth it!

This month’s band is Pickwick from Seattle, Washington.

I have come to the conclusion that rainy and depressing places produces a plethora of awesome music: Seattle, England, England, and Oxford, and London and England. While there are a few other places as well, Seattle seems to do a great job of pumping out quality artists that are always pushing their musical abilities to the max. They classify their sound as Garage/Indie/R&B but I am completely reminded of Southern Gospel and the golden, silky voice of Otis Redding and that soulful style of music. There are lots of guys in the band and they layer their melodies and harmonies extremely well. They also follow my blueprint to successful song making…keeping everything simple and crisp.

As of right now, not a lot of people know about this group. And if you want to jump on a band that is about to explode into fame, this is the band to follow. Then you can be one of the people who are like, “I listened to them back when they were good and nobody knew them and now that they’re famous…they suck.”

Here are a couple of videos of them live in a depressing Seattle basement:


Pickwick – Hacienda Motel & Call and Response


Pickwick – The Round

Unbelievable right?

I still cannot get over how good and fresh their sound is. Definitely one of my new favorite bands as they continue to climb the ladder of famedom.


They released three EP type things with two songs on each CD…I have no idea what they’re scheming but it worked, and I bought all three Myth Volumes. Bastards.

Artist: Pickwick
Albums: Myths, Vol. 1, 2 and 3
Website: http://pickwick.bandcamp.com/
Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/pickwickmusic

Suggested Music:


Artist: Bernhoft
Album: Solidarity Breaks

This guy is the king of looping/live performances…and that is exactly what I mean. His CD is slightly disappointing but he sounds great live and his CD cover is bokeh overload.


Artist: Dirty Beaches
Album: Badlands


Alex Zhang Hungtai is the coolest 50’s greaser alive. Fact.


If you like Taiwanese dudes who are stuck in the 50’s and sound like a grunged-up Elvis Presley…this is your man. I am loving the album and getting more and more addicted to this sound every time I put it on.

Written by jonewantsm3

August 4, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Music Box

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks so much jonewants3! I love dirty beaches too!

    Galen

    August 4, 2011 at 11:56 pm

  2. Galen! Please schedule a stop in San Diego soon!

    jonewantsm3

    August 6, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  3. They look like an awesome live act! Have played their music a lot on my show and people always like it! nice work

    BondiBen

    August 30, 2011 at 6:59 am


Leave a Reply

