Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Children Of The Nations

with 2 comments

Last weekend I went to a fundraising dinner for Children Of The Nations. This organization is geared towards improving the quality of living for kids in other countries and empowering local churches and groups to be involved through various methods of support and fundraising ideas of their own. It was amazing to go there and see what they’re about and hear about the impact they’ve had on kids lives around the world. Some of the stories they shared were touching and it is great to see the staff so passionate and excited about the work that is being accomplished. The food was pretty dank as well… overall a great night.


Table decor from …I believe Malawi…

The venue was the Riverwalk Golf Club in Mission Valley, CA. I felt stupid for never realizing that place existed even though I passed by it many times on the trolley to Chargers games. The night started off with hor’douvres and a silent auction. There were a lot of cool things to bid on but I couldn’t bid on anything that would put me over 100 items. I tried to bid on items like tickets, gift cards, food (some punk kid outbid me on a 5-lb piece of chocolate) and stuff like that. After dinner there was a live auction which featured vacations and high end art stuff that I could never afford.


New friends and cupcakes!

The only bad part of the night was when I went to the bar and needed a drink. Five-friggin-dollars for a bottle of Corona Mexican Piss…@!!$%#%…

…even worse was when I asked for the bottle, he instead poured it into a little crappy plastic cup. Then when he was done pouring into the cup, there was about 1/4 still left in the bottle (which my engineer brain quickly calculated that $1.25 still remained). The cheap Asian-ness inside me saw what was happening and I immediately blurted out, “oh, I’ll take the bottle… I can kill the little amount that’s left in the…” *CLANK*

That was the sound of the bartender throwing $1.25 away into the recycle bin.

Then I killed him.

Over $1.25 of wasted drink.

Just kidding.

I cried.

Anyway, here’s a link to the website for Children of the Nations:  www.cotni.org

You can sponsor a child, make a one time donation, partner with the organization, or do many other things to help kids out around the world!

Written by jonewantsm3

May 27, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Church, Rant

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] and to know that they are loved…which is why I love supporting groups like this similar to Children of the Nations. So when my friend called me and asked if I wanted to head down there to support Loving Orphans […]

  2. […] and to know that they are loved…which is why I love supporting groups like this similar to Children of the Nations. So when my friend called me and asked if I wanted to head down there to support Loving Orphans […]


Leave a Reply

