Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Items Update

leave a comment »

I’ve been pretty busy lately that I have not had the time to update on all the things that I’ve given away and that I’ve bought. Here’s a quick summary of all the items coming and going.

Gone:


Item 42: NIV Bible
Item 44: Books (5)
Item 61: T Shirt
Item 77: Polo Shirt (2)

I am getting rid of the bible because I only ever use my NKJV Bible because I still have the cardboard box around it (is it weird that I keep it in the box still?). And to be perfectly honest, I can’t find it anymore. ha! The books are no longer a necessity as I have added an item to replace it. The T shirt was cool… but I only wore it once or twice this year and that once or twice was simply to justify keeping it as an item. Plus, the shirt fit too small on me as I am an extremely muscular specimen to be marveled at. The two polo shirts are simply colors that I don’t like anymore. Just kidding. Both of them ripped along the arms (muscles!) and my mom sewed them up. I hate wearing clothes that she sews because she stitches them all goofy. I’m a teenage fashion queen at heart so I’m donating these clothes tomorrow!

Hello:

Item 42: Tripod
Item 44: Kindle 3

Obviously, the Kindle was a great investment for me to store many books as one item instead of carrying around many books at a time. After using the Kindle for a few times, I am completely won over by it and think it was a great decision. The reason for purchasing the tripod was because in this process of simplifying my life, I am able to concentrate on a few hobbies that I have which includes photography. I have a lot of free time now that I’m not worrying about things to purchase or get. My weekends are filled with simple decisions such as…who should I hang out with? Should I surf, walk around with the camera, play some guitar, read on the Kindle, or do laundry today? And what time should I do those things? That’s about it. My life sounds boring I know. Shaddup.

It seems to me that I am slowly owning less and less items. I have about 93 or 94 items right now and to be honest, there are no urges to replace things that I’ve lost or given away or whatever. My friend said to me the other day, “you’re not a real San Diegan if you don’t own any flip flops!” which I would have agreed with previously. When my flip flops broke a while back, my first thought was that it was one of those items that I would need to replace quick because I use it so much. Instead, I’m wearing my walking shoes a lot more (without socks, yes gross I know…) and lots of girls are complimenting me on my nice shoes. Haha! Instead of replying that it’s because I don’t have any flip flops I just smile and quietly agree. I guess my point is that I am finding ways to avoid purchasing things when I really don’t need it.

In the meantime, the giving has slowed a bit but I did have one friend approach me to ask for support on her trip overseas to Africa. She was heading across the pond to help teach kids and volunteer at an orphanage. I told her how happy I was that she would ask me to support her on her trip and honestly it means a lot that someone would remember to ask me something like that. Good stuff.

I’m still working on keeping life simple but that’s the update for now.

Until next time, cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

May 10, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in 100 Things

Leave a Reply

