Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Music Box: Peter Wolf Crier

leave a comment »

When I first heard of this band I thought to myself…what good music can come out of Minnesota? Fortunately for me, I took the risk and the reward was worth it.

Peter Wolf Crier is a duo, Peter Pisano and Mike Moen, out of Minneapolis and they produce a unique sound that is put very well together in their debut album Inter-Be. In fact, I needed my Ultimate Ears TripleFi 10 earbuds (yes, I own very expensive earbuds and it’s worth it!) to fully appreciate their array of drums, guitars, high and low harmonies, and the timing of it all sewn together in one amazing audible package. I really enjoy listening to a band who has lyrics that speak deep to the soul and these guys are up there with the best of them. You’ve got to listen to a song a couple times to see how they use the music to bring the lyrics to life.

Hard to tell what it is exactly that draws me to like these guys. Maybe it’s the fact that this music is coming out of Minneapolis… or maybe it’s Mike the drummer who looks like an engineer I would have gone to school with and would always give me the, “uh…hmpf,” answer every time I would ask, “hey, I’ve already got the answer, but what did you get? I just want to double check and see if I got the correct answer…”

Here are a couple videos. Check them out:

I am very interested to what you guys think the meaning is in the second video, Hard As Nails.

Their myspace profile view was about a measly 100,000 when I first started listening to them and I would expect that these guys would have made it huge on their debut album if they were in a large city with more musical impact. Oh well… they’ll get popular soon enough when people realize how good they are.


Artist: Peter Wolf Crier
Album: Inter-Be
Website: http://www.peterwolfcrier.com
Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/peterwolfcrier

Suggested Music:

Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record (ah-friggin-mazing album)
De Rosa – Prevention (Scottish acoustic awesomeness)
Fanfarlo – Reservoir

 

UPDATE 3/10/2011:
I found this video on NPR of the group playing for the awesome Tiny Desk Concerts podcast.  Be prepared to be blown away:

Written by jonewantsm3

March 6, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Music Box

Leave a Reply

