Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Sleeping Bags!

with one comment

As I mentioned in a previous post, I feel that my decision to do the 100 Thing Challenge has been confirmed by a lot of opportunities presenting themselves where I can give or help other people. So far the idea of owning less to be able to give more has been working out fine.

Last night on my way to Fill-A-Belly, I was debating the idea to stop by Wal-Mart to buy bottled water, lemonade mix and hot chocolate packets for the homies who go there. I was about 50-50 about whether I should get off at the next exit to pick these up when I get a text from a friend asking if I could stop by Wal-Mart to pick up some other things. If that isn’t enough of an indication or sign to go to Wal-Mart then I don’t know what is.

Apparently, some cops were harassing some of the homeless guys in Oceanside and took away some of their belongings including sleeping bags. I found out later on that guns and tasers were involved but I really don’t know too much beyond that to make any conclusion on the incident. As nice as some of the homies are, I know a few of them do not have the best relationship or respect towards authority figures so I could see a situation going down like that. I have a ton of respect for cops and the job they do but I completely disagree with their decision to take away their sleeping bags. But again, I don’t know all the details and whatever…my job at Wal-Mart was to pick up as many sleeping bags that I could get.


Cleaning out Walmart!

As I stood in line to pay for these items, I had a very interesting conversation with the lady at the checkout.

Me: Excuse me, do I need to put all of these sleeping bags on the belt or could I just keep them in the cart?
Lady: Um… sir, you are going to have to wait. I am helping this customer right now.
Me: Okay, sorry.

Then I figured, okay, I’m going to get her attention by piling them onto the belt. So I started forming this huge pyramid thing and halfway through my structural masterpiece she stops me.

Lady: Oh! You can just keep those items in the cart! You don’t have to take them out!
Me: Okay, yeah…that’s what I was asking you before…

The lady behind me started laughing as I took down my pyramid stack.

After dropping off the stuff I had to leave the group early but I hope they were able to pass the bags out to people who really needed them and that they were able to stay warm last night. I also got rear ended by an old dude last night on freeway which added to my exciting adventure. My first car accident ever…and now I must go ice my neck.

Until next time. Cheers.

Written by jonewantsm3

February 9, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in 100 Things

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coleman kids sleeping bags are available in various sizes, colours, materials and temperature limits. The materials used in making the shell and the lining determine what season the bag is suitable for. Some bags are fit for spring, summer, autumn or winter.

    John Beba

    December 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm


Leave a Reply

