Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Music Box: The Head And The Heart

with one comment

I receive probably one or five messages a week (and an occasional email) from a random friend about what new music or bands that I could suggest to add to their repertoire of music. Most of the time I get the response, “who the heck is that? what kind of music is it? do you have anything less indie? do you have anything less weird?”

Sigh.

To help alleviate my own situation of headache and frustration towards my fellow humans, I decided that 2011 would be a good year to start up a category of posts called Music Box where I post the best bands that you are not listening to. Your job is to educate yourself and go listen to them. I also want to point out that there is just too much good music out there for me to cover so I might not get around to listening to an album for a few months after it releases. Also, I will also provide suggested music too…kind of like extra credit if you will.

Okay, here’s the first one to kick off 2011:

I started listening to these guys late summer in 2010. The album was released in June and from what I can read online, they are taking Seattle by storm.  Early last year I started getting into more folk/acoustic/folk rock/folk indie/folk everything type of music and it’s a whole new playing field for me. It’s like I’ve been playing at Disneyland my whole life and someone just recently told me that Knott’s Berry Farm is just miles away. Unbelievable.

There is so much emotion and feeling written into every song and the lead vocal has such a distinct and unique timbre (what’s up music terminology?) that is perfect for the sound they are creating. One of my favorite songs on the album is Down In The Valley shown here via youtube:


Is that Dude Bro Matt playing lead for The Head and The Heart?!?

I chose this as the first album for 2011 because I started listening to them again during the holiday season and it was like the first time listening to them again. Their music and style is so fresh and simple. I can’t wait for them to schedule a stop in San Diego so I can go watch them live and meet creepy sheep guy (see album cover below).


Artist: The Head and The Heart
Album: The Head and The Heart
Website: http://www.theheadandtheheart.com
Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/theheadandtheheart

Suggested Music:

Sun Kil Moon – Admiral Fell Promises (2010)
The Walkmen – Lisbon (2010)

Written by jonewantsm3

January 5, 2011 at 1:00 am

Posted in Music Box

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] slowly be catching on just like they did with previous Music Box artists Of Monsters and Men and The Head and The Heart. Silky smoothy vocals, amazing musicianship, and excellent stitching of all the parts […]


Leave a Reply

