Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

A Good Weekend

leave a comment »

This past weekend was one of those in which you just look back upon and smile.

I was having a great start of the week until it kind of took a nose dive towards the end. By Friday, I was feeling pretty depressed on the drive home after work. All week I was stuck at work with friends’ texting, emailing, messaging me about how epic the surf was and I knew I had no way to paddle out with them. I was uber-bummed that a really good friend and his family moved away and I wouldn’t be seeing them a whole lot anymore. I started reflecting on the future and what I’ve been accomplishing the past few months and whether my time spent was worth it doing those things. Worse yet, self-planted land mines in my erratic mind started going off…questioning so many things that were happening:

Was the condo really worth it? Should I go on that blind date? You need to travel more. Quit your job. You need to man up. Money isn’t everything. You need money to be secure. She’s too young. Too old?
Move back to England. You don’t know anything. The timings not right. She doesn’t see you like that. Maybe? You need a fresh start…

…Are you happy in life?

How can you have a good weekend with a start like this? Well, a lot of time spent with family, friends and surfing can cure that: dinner/dessert parties on Friday and Saturday, movie night at home, surfing sunrise, discussing life with a buddy over breakfast and tea, lunch with grandpa and helping him garden, surfing sunset, seeing old high school friends…I can’t ask for much more.  The best things in life are free and I hold high precedence all of the relationships I have with my family and friends. I realize that without these relationships, I’d be completely unhappy.

This was a good weekend.


I was surfing with a high school friend and it literally looked like this out on the water…with an occasional 4-5 foot swell rolling through. =)

Addendum:
Give credit where it’s due. I found the sunset surfing picture online and also found out that it was taking in Carlsbad, CA which is where I was surfing.

Written by jonewantsm3

October 4, 2010 at 1:00 am

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

