Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Goodbye Work Phone

leave a comment »

Today I took the intern out to look at a manhole. There is some piping that needs to come out of it in the near future and connect to a concrete vault a few feet away. What does that have to do with anything? Nothing. Anyway, so we’re looking down this manhole because we have a couple of pumps down there drawing water out to keep the water level low.  I lean over to take a picture and didn’t reach quite far enough. So I decided to take another and leaned further over the ledge…

…then I felt something fall out of my right chest pocket.

“uh… what was that!?” asked the intern.

I looked down just in time to see my work phone hit a wooden plank on the way down, open up (flip phone) and then land in the water below. Craaaap. I couldn’t believe it. I immediately backed up, checked my blackberry to make sure it wouldn’t fall out and grabbed my other items in my construction vest and shoved them into my pocket. I noticed that a few more items were on the brink of falling out too…close call. Then I looked back down and saw the most incredible thing… my phone was still on underneath the surface of the water.

Too bad I couldn’t climb down to get it. I need all this safety gear to go get the phone safely so I just left it there.

Can you see it?

UPDATE:

I am so glad I have friends like this:

Anne Y: hahahaha
when i read your status i imagined your facial expression
Anne Y: classic johnny horror face
Johnny: thanks.
Written by jonewantsm3

July 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Posted in Rant

Leave a Reply

