Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Cell Phones of Past

with one comment

I’ve been looking a lot at cell phones lately and more specifically to change out my plan as I feel like I am paying too much for my services. This is a move related to my current condo purchase and me trying to cut down on monthly expenses. I just need something with a lot of minutes and texting and I’ll be good to go…although the google maps app and being able to check surfline on my phone right now has been tremendous, in being very necessary and completely unnecessary at the same time.

For some reason, the more I looked at phones the more I wanted to upgrade to a more expensive one. I guess for now I’ll stick with my blackberry. It got me thinking of all the phones that I’ve used in the past which has been quite a few. Here they are and how good/bad they were to me:

Nokia 3310     Rating 7/10

This was my very first phone that I got in early high school. Very good call quality from what I remember and very durable. I hung on to this guy throughout high school as it treated me well. I have no idea what happened to it.

Motorola V60     Rating 8/10

I went from a bomb candy bar style phone to a virtually indestructable flip phone. I never had any issues with this guy with dropped calls as it got amazing reception. Also, the fact that Motorola made this phone a tank, I was able to (unintentionally, of course) drop this guy, accidentally kick it on the floor, do everything you could possibly imagine to not do to a phone and it still worked. Kind of funny, but I saw this phone a couple days ago on the table and it still looks like it’s in great condition.

Motorola V66     Rating 4/10

This was supposedly the upgrade to a lighter and slimmer version of the V60. It should have been advertised as the more unreliable version that breaks easier. This phone was so fragile compared to the previous phone I had. I remember that star trek looking cover plate on the front coming off so easily all the time. It didn’t get great reception either.

Samsung E100     Rating 6/10

This phone was a sigh of relief as I did not have the Motorola V66 for a very long time. It was a little refreshing I remember to be able to step away from Motorola. This phone was great in every aspect except for the calls. I don’t remember being able to get great reception with this phone but being in the apartments at UCLA is hard anyway. I actually don’t think I owned the two previous phones for over a year total…kind of a fast turn around time.

Motorola RAZR     Rating 8/10

I’m not going to lie, this phone was great to me. The technology on this phone blew me away which is kind of funny now to look back at such a ‘basic’ phone compared to today’s standard. I remember my dad pestering me nonstop to get this phone because it was ‘the coolest phone available today”. It was a good choice to switch, but I lost my really awesome and easy to remember phone number. This phone was reliable and did it’s job and that’s all I can ask for. Nothing really fancy about it except it was a really sleek phone at the time that lots of people had.

Motorola SLVR     Rating 2/10

After sticking with the RAZR for a while and everybody and everybody’s cousin had the RAZR, I wanted to branch out and be unique. So I bought this crap of a phone on eBay and hated my life afterwards. This should be known as the Static-y Low Value unReliable phone. Yes, I achieved uniqueness in my phone as people would see it and be like, “cool phone dude!” I would just simply reply, “thanks, its not.” I stuck with this thing for a while because I paid for it and it actually was slightly useful when I went to Taiwan and England as it was my first unlocked phone.

Sony Ericsson K800i     Rating 9.5/10

This was and is the best phone that I have owned to date. I bought this guy in the UK and got it unlocked so I could use it back home in the states. It was solid, durable, took great pictures, had a great interface, great call quality, there’s nothing I can say bad about it. I wish I still had this phone as I let my brother borrow it and he did something to it. He won’t tell me exactly, but he claims he still has it but it’s in horrible condition. Whatever. Call me absurd or awkward but I miss this phone every once in a while. I’m such a loser.

Blackberry 8320 Curve     Rating 9/10

This is my current phone and it’s been great to me. I honestly spent a few months using it like a normal phone and not taking advantage of the internet, apps, bb messenger and other things. I’m so simple minded. BB messenger is simply amazing as I’m able to chat with my UK buddies every once in a while and it’s all part of the data plan for no additional charge. Everytime I’m driving somewhere and need to look up an address, the BB helps me out without me having to buy a GPS device for my car. Also, I can check fantasy football scores on Sunday during church serv.. I mean check the surf report while I’m not at church to see if the surf is good…yes…

What phones have you owned!?

Written by jonewantsm3

April 1, 2010 at 1:00 am

Posted in Rant, Reviews

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve only ever had 3 phones. I can’t remember what my first phone was, but i think it was similar to your first phone. That nokia one. My 2nd phone was the same phone you had johnny, the Motorola V60 from college until February2009. You are correct in saying that the phone was a tank. 😀 i think my antenna broke once though and i had to get the battery changed once b/c it would only last 4 hours before it died. Then i decided to upgrade it to the LG dare which is the phone i currently have. =) I like it. it has great reception. I’m just waiting for my contract to be up so i can change service providers. Verizon is too expensive for me right now…

    fern

    April 2, 2010 at 8:58 am


Leave a Reply

