Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Painting, Painting and Painting!

with one comment

After many weekends of work, I felt that I made the most progress this weekend. The only reason being I painted the hallways and accent wall which is one of the biggest visual changes I am making to the new place. It was also by far the most time consuming task to repair, wash, tape up and then edge in all the corners before I was able to use the roller. Oh yeah, I had to do this TWICE which took the entire weekend.

On another great note, the laminate flooring finally came. Of course I had the inspector sniff it out for approval before accepting it.


Morgan the inspector.


As you can see with laminate, the design printed on top of both of these boards are the same. I have to go through and somehow randomize the planks. That’s right. Randomize.

Here are a few shots of the hallway and accent wall before:

Here are a few pictures of me taping off everything and then edging in the corners:


I also went as far as half the kitchen with the dark blue. I wanted to create a contrast with the eventual white cabinets.

The finished product after two coats of paint:


The color transition moving from the dark blue hallway to the gray/lightly green-tinged bedrooms.


The light brown cabinets all of a sudden don’t look so bad anymore.

The later pictures are closer to what the color looks like in real life. While a lot of people may think that the color is too dark, I think it’s a great choice especially because my place gets tons of sunlight coming in from all over. The contrast created in the hallway of the white door frames against the dark wall looks way better than what I was imagining in my head.

I only have the other walls in the living room to paint which shouldn’t take me much longer. I’m going to be installing the laminate flooring and tiling the fireplace this next weekend. Seems like my place is finally coming together all right. Maybe I can move in soon too…

Let me know what you think! Cheers.

BTW. I just broke rule #2 from the previous post. Shame on me.

Written by jonewantsm3

March 22, 2010 at 1:00 am

Posted in Home

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give one thing again and aid others like you helped me.

    Regan

    April 12, 2013 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

