Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Deciding on Colors

leave a comment »

Today I officially joined the ranks of home ownership. My past experiences of having to knock on the landlord’s door to complain about a leaky faucet, broken shower head, broken cabinets and the list goes on…have benefited me none at all. Apparently, I must do all of my own handiwork from now on which is not a problem for me. I’ve already brainstormed all of the areas that I need to fix up in my new place while keeping in mind that I am on a really tight budget. One of the most obvious improvements that I am making is the color selection of the place and I’ve narrowed it down to a few colors that I am 99% set on.

Here are a few pictures of what the place looks like now:

A lot of the colors in this place drives me nuts. You can’t tell by the pictures, but the living room has 3 shades of yellow, the kitchen and bedrooms have this funky light, lime green color. Yaaak.

Here is what I propose for the new place:

While most people are going with a darker laminate wood color, I’ve based my color selection off of a lighter laminate wood color that I will be installing after the walls have been painted. I just want to try something new and fresh that not a lot of people try to attempt. So with that in mind, some kind of dark blue color will be going on the living room wall leading into the hallway and kitchen. My idea for the kitchen would be dark blue walls with white appliances and white refinished cabinetry to create some contrast. The two center colors on the two left pallets are what I’m going to paint the rest of the living room, entry and dining areas…but I haven’t decided between Heavy Cream or Almond Paste. I’m going to paint the bedrooms a really light gray with a tinge of green with one wall in the master bedroom being dark green. My goal is to create a relaxing bedroom environment with some form of Japanese theme to it. We’ll see what happens…

Anyway, let me know what you think! Let me know if these colors are too boring or if you feel they need some female inspiration to improve it. If you have no idea what I’m talking about and these colors are confusing you, then that’s okay too! I spent over five minutes looking and comparing colors like Delicate White and Crumb Cookie below:

Written by jonewantsm3

February 27, 2010 at 12:14 am

Posted in Home

Leave a Reply

