Read this stuff. It's good for you.

But seriously, it's good for you.

Movie: Slumdog Millionaire

with one comment

Yes I finally watched Slumdog Millionaire as it arrived surprisingly in my mailbox thanks to the good ol’ reliable Netflix. I actually could not wait when I opened the sleeve and read the title. I must watch it now! Tonight! So I did…

I am sad to report that I did not thoroughly enjoy the movie… it could have been the over-hype, the annoying evil brother Jamal, or the annoying real-life sister who kept asking, “wait, what’s going on?” But seriously, aside from all that, the movie was mediocre at best in my opinion. The idea was great and the acting at times was above average, but overall, the story could have flowed better and connected past and present better. Let’s just say at certain points in the movie, I felt that my sister’s question was legitimate…kind of.

But Johnny, you’re missing the big picture! you may say… maybe I am, maybe I’m not. The strength of the movie definitely came from the idea and message that it was trying to share with the audience. I felt that it was fairly obvious by the way Jamal kept talking about Latika and having flashbacks of her creepy girlish figure getting left behind in the dark. It was also extremely frustrating that Jamal always found her then couldn’t be with her… but I guess it contributes to strengthen what the director wanted to say. You should never give up on love because it will be worth it in the end. Oooor… that you too can be a national hero if you are lucky in life. Extremely lucky.

Lucky, just like the little boy in the movie who jumped in his own poop. Smile Jamal!

RATING: 7/10
thumbs-up
thumbs-upthumbs-upthumbs-upthumbs-upthumbs-upthumbs-up

Written by jonewantsm3

August 6, 2009 at 9:06 pm

Posted in Reviews

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, that Poop part was nasty, but the movie was great. You know, it’s funny and then again maybe it’s not. The thing is that the truth is that people do live like that in other countries. I was born in the ghettos of the Bronx NYC, and I never lived anything like that. And I thought that I had it bad.
    JosephDiego DiaMante

    JosephDiego Diamante

    July 14, 2011 at 11:03 am


Leave a Reply

